Back to Home To the page Pension To the page Prices/Contact To the page Drive To the page Leisure To the page Holiday house
Home>>B & B>>Description of the house>>Landscape

Millau Bridge/ Tarn valley- "photogallery"

Hint: By clicking on the little photos on the left side you'll view the photos about the landscape!

The pension "Refuge pour Motards" is situated in 660 m above the sea-level in southern France in the east of the departement Aveyron beside of the departement Lozère, and not far from the departement Gard. Here, located just south of the Massif Central, the landscape forms a beautiful, unique mixture of tableland like steppes, deep, wild gorges, mountains with dense forest, but also lovely river valleys.

The Mediterranean Sea is 115 km far away and can be reached fastly and for nothing by the highway . You cross the Millau Bridge (Viaduct of Millau), the highest and most beautiful bridge in the world, which you have to pay (4,40 €/motorcycle or 7,00 € - 8,90 €/car for one crossing- prices 2013) and which has a height of 343 m. So it is higher than the tower of Eiffel at Paris. You can also reach fastly the volcanic mountains of the Auvergne.

We take the advantage of the mild mediterranean climate, but in summer we don't suffer from extreme heat periods because of our local situation. You can enjoy your preferate holiday activities, for example going on motorcycle, where the temperatures are the best for you due to the great variety of the landscape: the altitude is between about 200 m (valley of the river Lot) and 1.855 m (Plomb du Cantal, Auvergne).

In our region you find only a bit of industry, and so our guests can spend their holidays in a healthy nature without great destructions of nature.

The most important landscapes are:Back to the top end of the page!

Causses (limestone plateaux): The infinite widths with its poor growth extends until the horizon and are the home of more than 2000 kinds of fauna and flora. Forests, little mountains and bizarre formations of rocks make the causses various. There live more than 1,2 million of sheeps, which give the milk for the Roquefort-cheese, which is famous in the whole world.

Subterranean the causses are full of numberless caves. The most impressionned are the "Grotto of Dargilan" and "Aven Armand". Above a part of the causses fly the gigantic, majestic tawny vultures.

Gorges: The end of the Massif Central is penetrated by gorges. The most beautiful of them cross the causses. Each of them has a peculiar character. Motorcyclists can go through them. You have also the ingenious possibility to enter the gorges at different places and to quit them at another place in order to change into another gorges. In part the departures and also the views into the gorges are overcoming.

The longest gorges of Southern France with more than 80 km of length are the Tarn gorges, the european "Great Canyon". In part the walls of rocks have height of over 500 m. On the contrary of the "Gorges de l'Ardèche" or the "Grand Canyon du Verdon" the Tarn gorges are inhabitated. Villages with southern flair invite to repose. The inhabitants have constructed buildings partially against or in the rock. The river Tarn is one of the most beautiful rivers where you can go on canoe or kayac.

The Gorges of the Jonte is narrower and wilder as the Gorges of the Tarn. Here live the tawny vultures, which can be observed very good (there is a special information center in the Gorges of the Jonte). The Jonte gorges are a paradise for climbing. The Gorges of the Vis offer the impressive "Cirque de Navacelles".

Cevennes: They consist of innumerable mountains and valleys and only a thin population. It is a paradise for bikers and especially for bikers with cross-country motorcycles. During the winter the Cevennes are a paradise for skiing.

The Lot valley: The valley of the Lot is a contrast to the causses and the gorges. It is fertile and very beautiful. You find villages of the Middle Ages: Estaing, Conques (valley of the Ouche), St-Côme d'Olt and St-Eulalie d'Olt are one of the most beautiful villages of France.

Back to the top end of the page!

Aubrac: The volcanic mountains begin in the north of the valley of the Lot and is full of meadows and forest. In summer you will find here herds of cows. The region is well-known for its excellent cheese. The "Tome de Laguiole" is the basic of the national dish Aligot, which our guests can eat in our pension. In winter the Aubrac is a paradise for skiing.

Except for the mentioned landscapes the Aveyron offers in the south and southwest many sights. In order to discover all these, the holidays are not long enough.

The lakes of Lévézou with its clean seas are ideal for bathing and all forms of water sports. In the country in the south and the south west of Millau you find many castles and villages of the Middle Ages and the fortified villages of the Templars and the Hospitallers.

And also the gorges in the west and southwest of the Aveyron (Aveyron gorges and Viaur gorges) should be visited.

You have a good view to the Millau Bridge when you visit the village of Peyre with its volcanic tuff houses.

In the west of our pension the bastides are situated. They are towns and villages which were built on the basic of a regular plan in the 13. - 14. century (Villefranche de Rouergue, Sauveterre-de-Rouergue and others).

 

Back to the top end of the page!

 

 

Tarn gorges- views from "Point Sublime"

Tarn gorges- views at "Cirque de St-Chély"

Tarn gorges/ Jonte gorges- "Le Rozier"

Tarn gorges- "photogallery"

Dourbie gorges- "photogallery"

Jonte gorges- "photogallery"

Cirque de Navacelles- "photogallery"

Lot valley- "photogallery"

Cevennes, Margeride, Aubrac, Cantal- "photogallery"

Hills and lakes of Lévézou- "photogallery"
Conques- "photogallery"

Bastides- "photogallery"

Zurück zur Startseite Zur Seite Pension Zur Seite Preise, Kontaktaufnahme Zur Seite Anfahrt Zur Seite Freizeit Zur Seite Ferienhaus
Startseite>>Pension>>Beschreibung Haus>>Region

Gorges du Tarn- Panoramablick "Point Sublime"

Hinweis: Durch Klicken auf die kleinen Bilder der Vorschau auf der linken Seite gelangt man zu den hinterlegten Bildern über die Region!

Die Pension "Refuge pour Motards" liegt auf 660 m Meereshöhe in Südfrankreich im Osten des Departements Aveyron an der Grenze zum Departement Lozère, das Departement Gard ist nicht weit entfernt. Die Ausläufer des Zentralmassives bilden hier eine grandiose, einzigartige Landschaftsmixtur aus steppenartigen Hochflächen, tiefen wilden Schluchten, dicht bewaldeten Bergen, aber auch lieblichen Flußtälern, bevor sie unweit vom Mittelmeer enden.

Das Mittelmeer ist 115 km entfernt und durch die fast durchgängig fertiggestellte, kostenlose Autobahnverbindung schnell erreichbar. Dabei überquert man die höchste, schönste Straßenbrücke der Welt, den kostenpflichtigen (4,40 €/Motorrad oder 7,00 - 8,90 €/Auto und Fahrt- Preise 2013) Viadukt von Millau (siehe Fotos oben und unten), der an seiner höchsten Stelle mit 343 m sogar den Pariser Eiffelturm überragt. Genauso schnell sind die Vulkanberge der Auvergne erreichbar.

Durch die große Bandbreite an Landschaftsformationen variiert die Meereshöhe zwischen ca. 200 m (Lottal) und 1.855 m (Plomb du Cantal, Auvergne), es ist deshalb möglich, unsere bevorzugte Freizeitaktivität, das Fahren mit dem Motorrad, in einem gewissen Rahmen jeweils dort zu genießen, wo die Temperaturen ideal sind.

Aufgrund der lange Zeit abgeschiedenen Lage hat sich in unserer Gegend kaum Industrie angesiedelt, so dass unsere Gäste ihren Urlaub in einer intakten Natur ohne nennenswerte Umweltzerstörungen verbringen können.

Die wichtigsten Landschaften sind: Zurück zum Seitenanfang!

Causses (Kalkhochflächen): Die unendlichen Weiten mit ihrem kargen Bewuchs erstrecken sich bis zum Horizont und bieten einer Flora und Fauna mit mehr als 2000 Arten ein Zuhause. Wälder, Hügel und bizarre Felsformationen lockern diese Hochflächen auf. Auf ihnen weiden mehr als 1,2 Millionen Schafe, die die Milch für den weltberühmten Roquefort-Käse liefern. Unterirdisch werden die Causses von zahllosen Höhlen durchzogen, die beeindruckendsten sind "Grotte de Dargilan" und "Aven Armand". Über einem Teil der Hochflächen kreisen die riesigen, majestätischen Gänsegeier.

Gorges (Schlucht): Die Ausläufer des Zentralmassives sind durchzogen von Gorges. Die schönsten davon durchschneiden die Causses. Jede von ihnen zeichnet sich durch einen eigenständigen Charakter aus. Motorradfahrer können diese durchfahren, es bietet sich die geniale Möglichkeit, an verschiedenen Stellen auch in eine Gorges hineinzufahren, z. T. können diese auf der anderen Seite wieder verlassen werden, um in eine andere Schlucht zu wechseln. Die Auf- und Abfahrten sind dabei wie auch die Aussichten in die Schluchten z. T. atemberaubend.

Die längste Schlucht in Südfrankreich ist mit mehr als 80 km Länge die Gorges du Tarn, der europäische "Grand Canyon". Die Felswände sind z. T. über 500 m hoch. Im Gegensatz zur Gorges de l'Ardèche oder zum Grand Canyon du Verdon ist die Tarnschlucht bewohnt. Dörfer mit südländischem Flair laden hier zur Rast ein. Die Bewohner haben Gebäude z. T. an oder in die Felswand gebaut. Der Tarn ist einer der schönsten mit dem Kanu oder Kajak befahrbaren Flüsse.

Die Gorges de la Jonte ist enger und wilder als die Gorges du Tarn. Hier haben die riesigen Gänsegeier, die sehr gut zu beobachten sind (es gibt ein extra hierfür eingerichtetes Informationszentrum in der Schlucht), ihre Horste. Die Schlucht ist ein Paradies für Kletterer. Die Gorges de la Vis hat ein beeindruckendes, einzigartiges Naturschauspiel zu bieten, den Cirque de Navacelles.

Cevennen: Zahllose Berge und Täler prägen diesen Gebirgszug, er ist nur sehr dünn besiedelt, ein Eldorado besonders für Endurofahrer, aber auch Motorradfahrer mit Straßenmotorrädern kommen hier auf ihre Kosten. Im Winter sind die Cevennen ein Paradies für Skilangläufer.

Vallée du Lot: Das Lottal steht im absoluten Gegensatz zu den Causses und Gorges. Es zeichnet sich durch Fruchtbarkeit, Lieblichkeit und Schönheit aus. Dies spiegelt sich auch in seinen mittelalterlichen Städten und Dörfern wider. Estaing, Conques (Vallée de l'Ouche), St-Côme d'Olt und St-Eulalie d'Olt zählen zu den schönsten Orten Frankreichs.

Zurück zum Seitenanfang!

Aubrac: Die vulkanische Hochebene steigt nördlich vom Vallée du Lot auf und ist geprägt von Wiesen und Wäldern. In den Sommermonaten weiden hier die Rinderherden. Die Gegend ist für ihre hervorragenden Käsesorten bekannt, der "Tome de Laguiole" bildet die Grundlage für das Nationalgericht Aligot, das unsere Gäste in unserer Pension genießen können. Im Winter ist das Aubrac ein Paradies vor allem für Skilangläufer, aber auch Abfahrtski ist möglich.

Außer den oben genannten Landschaften bietet das Aveyron auch im Süden, Südwesten und Westen eine Fülle von Sehenswürdigkeiten an, für deren Entdeckung ein Urlaub nicht ausreicht. Genannt seien hier das Plateau von Lévézou mit seinen schönen, sauberen Badeseen, die Gegend südlich/ südwestlich von Millau mit ihren vielen Burgen, mittelalterlichen Dörfern und durch imposante Stadtmauern befestigten Orten der Templer- und Johanniter-Orden.

Auch wenn sie nicht so spektakulär sind, sind die Schluchten im Westen/Südwesten des Aveyron (Gorges de l'Aveyron und Gorges du Viaur) einen Besuch wert.

Vom Felsendorf Peyre aus mit seinen Häusern aus Tuffstein hat man einen sehr schönen Blick auf das Viadukt von Millau.

Im Westen unserer Pension liegen die sogenannten Bastiden, Städte, die nach einem regelmäßigen Plan entworfen und im 13. - 14. Jahrhundert gebaut wurden (Villefranche de Rouergue, Sauveterre-de-Rouergue u. a., die z. T. zu den schönsten Orten Frankreichs zählen).

Zurück zum Seitenanfang!

 

 

Gorges du Tarn- Panoramablick "Cirque de St-Chély"

Gorges du Tarn, Gorges de la Jonte- "Le Rozier"

Gorges du Tarn- "Bildergalerie"

Gorges de la Dourbie- "Bildergalerie"

Gorges de la Jonte (Geierschlucht)- "Bildergalerie"

Cirque de Navacelles- "Bildergalerie"

Lottal- "Bildergalerie"

Cevennen, Margeride, Aubrac, Cantal- "Bildergalerie"

Tarntal/ Viadukt von Millau- "Bildergalerie"

Plateau du Lévézou- "Bildergalerie"
Conques- "Bildergalerie"

Bastiden- "Bildergalerie"